THE ROOT

I believe that the root of depression and anxiety is a sense of condemnation.  By this I mean a sense/feeling/belief that you are actually a partial or complete failure.  That you have so many thoughts about what you’ve done wrong or what OTHERS think you’ve done wrong. These thoughts/concerns can show up as depression (thinking bad about yourself) or as anger (you think bad about others who judge you harshly).

TWO OPTIONS TO GET RID OF THIS DEPRESSION/ANXIETY: (1) Work harder to do better in your behavior to see if you can perfect yourself so you can look at yourself (and other people can, too) and try to feel that you are great.  (2) Accept God’s gift of imputed perfection/worthiness/innocence/greatness.

The first way will not deliver you from your depression/anxiety, although it’s the way that 99% of people try to gain the peace/joy their souls crave.  It’s the way that seems like it would work, but it doesn’t except for brief times.  The second one can deliver you –  but most people can’t find their way there.   But, I think it’s our only hope for peace/joy.   “God is a rewarder of those who earnestly seek him.”

I’ve tried both options.  I think I was entrenched in (1) for 25 years.  At the time, I really (but wrongfully) thought that was “the way”.  Those were not really happy years but I survived them.  It was an important phase for me in order to get where I wanted to go.  I now seek peace/joy the other way and have found a fair amount of it.  I want more.  We all do.

Leave a Reply

