My Self Righteousness

Whenever I do a good deed because I have a strong desire to be a good Christian person, I think it’s a dead work and is of no consequence.  It comes from a motive of trying to establish my own righteousness by my actions.  When I do a good deed because I’m so overflowing with goodwill toward my fellow man because I’m so happy because I understand God’s unfailing love for me, I think this is the kind of love that is spoken of in 1 Cor 13 and has value in God’s eyes. Do you see that in this circumstance (of loving because I was unfailingly loved by God) I really can’t take credit for the good deed?  I did the deed because all my needs had already been met by believing the Gospel so I had overflow of love out of me to another person. 

Leave a Reply

